Fluffy Meowington’s Cat Toy

Have you ever had a character in book become so beloved that at some point you actually felt like they were apart of your life? Using the word “book” rather than “tv show” made me sound very cultured and smart, right? Actually there have been two tv shows that I’ve watched through the years that have been so much apart of my life. When it’s a book or character from a book it’s acceptable and you’re cultured. Why can’t I just be honest and say it’s been the same with certain shows too? It’s all media after all.

Friends and One Tree Hill. Yessss! Before those who are more conservative than others start in on me (especially about Friends)… I admit and understand there are much debaucherous acts and terrible examples of integrity on these shows – especially as it relates to sex. It’s tv, it’s media, it’s put out there by the world… I get it. I do have standards and there are shows that I will not watch, but I do watch Friends. On these shows there are also some really great examples of friendship, family, supportive relationships, hard choices, positive transformation, standing up for yourself or others. I’m going to talk about why these shows have been so meaningful for me WITHOUT giving away too much or any big spoilers just in case you haven’t watched yet. Both are streaming on Netflix so you really have no excuses!

The characters of Friends have kept me laughing since I started watching during season 7 (somewhere around 2001?). Of course I backtracked and watched all the seasons on DVD. I watched only the final four seasons live on television. I remember watching the finale and feeling like I was loosing six of my actual friends. I think one reason we tend to cling towards a show via pinterest or start to feel attached is because it can be the most consistent thing in our lives. Sounds a little crazy but let me explain. I started watching friends when I was a teenager. Watched it all through jr high and high school… then in college… and into my adult years. I can’t think of anything or anyone else who was consistently there making me laugh. Even after the series ended in 2004 I would always have Friends on in the background, or my roommate and I would fall asleep to it. It was a comfort having something on that I knew so well. For the record, the only thing I felt pressured to do after watching Friends is to have great friends myself… and maybe in later seasons to go update my wardrobe! I’m not saying that’s what everyone felt or should have experienced. Maybe for you the show isn’t something you can or should be watching. Things I appreciated about the show (to name just a few)… Monica and Chandler’s relationship, Joey and Phoebe’s friendship, and Gunther pouring coffee over heartfelt conversations. When I needed to genuinely laugh and be happy – I would watch this show with a loved one! We all need a little laugh every day. I also really related to Monica’s struggle with her family. When I was in high school I had such a great group of friends that I felt so close with! I just wished we lived across the hall from each other or in the next building like the characters on Friends did. That’s not a bad wish. I think I secretly thought we’d all end up buying houses on the same street some day. Maybe I still hold onto that dream a little bit 🙂

When I watched One Tree Hill I felt like I had learned a new value lesson after each episode. The school of OTH! I used even wonder if someone on the show grew up in church or had a Christian influence. Each character grew and changed just like I had over over the years. We witnessed them graduate high school, get married, have kids, find their call in life… just like I did. OTH is like soul food for me. I feel like a part of me is in the show after watching so much transformation take place. When I needed a laugh I would watch Friends, but when I needed to feel understood or that I wasn’t alone in the struggle I would watch One Tree Hill. If there’s hope for these characters then there is certainly hope for me. The show also used art and music to speak volumes of truth. They also tackled the issue of grief after loosing a loved one. They did it perfectly and was so relatable and touching for me to watch after loosing my own loved one. So much I appreciated about this show that is really different than anything out there.

Disclaimer: Of course neither show was my main or even second or third source of comfort, happiness or support. Whenever I truly felt like no one on earth understands – I go to my heavenly Father. Whenever I am feeling so depression or down – I look to the heavens from where my help comes from. I also have an incredible husband, loving friends and family. Don’t read this the wrong way. I love my real friends more than tv shows! There is just something about the consistency and lessons learned from these shows that really have made a small impact on my life. Plus these were shows that I really shared WITH my loved ones! All of my friends know each FRIENDS episode by heart and we laugh together, send each other inside jokes from the show, and it’s great! So many of my friends and teenagers I work with are inspired by the characters of OTH and talking about it affirms life! God can use anything to speak to you or even use to connect with another human who needs a little encouragement. Sometimes talking about these shows are my way to break the ice with someone who needs a friend (no pun intended) or a mentor. Keith Scott status mentor!

I’m going to leave you with some of my favorite quotes from each show. I’ve already quoted OTH on both of my blogs so I’ll try and choose some new ones for you!

“My strength is from Jesus Christ. I am going to miss my baby boy for the rest of this life but I know we are going to see him again and our faith will see us through.” -One Tree Hill, said by Denise (Q’s Mom)

“Welcome to the real world. It sucks. You’re gonna love it!” -Friends, said by Monica episode 1

“You know that romantic notion that all the garbage and the pain is really healing and beautiful and sort of poetic? It’s not. It’s just garbage and it’s pain. You know what’s better? Love. The day that you start thinking that love is overrated is the day that you’re wrong. The only thing wrong with love and faith and belief is not having it.” -One Tree Hill, said by Haley

“It’s a moo point. It’s like a cow’s opinion; it doesn’t matter. It’s moo.” -Friends, said by Joey

“Tree Hill is just a place somewhere in the world. Maybe it’s a lot like your world, maybe it’s nothing like it. But if you look closer, you might see someone like you, or someone like you. Someone trying to find their way. Someone trying to find their place. Someone trying to find their self. Sometimes it seems like you are the only one in the world who’s struggling, who’s frustrated, unsatisfied, barely getting by. But that feeling’s a lie. And if you just hold on, just find the courage to face it all for another day, someone or something will find you and make it all okay. Because we all need a little help sometimes – someone to help us hear the music in their world, to remind us that it won’t always be this way. That someone is out there. And that someone will find you” -One Tree Hill, said by Lucas

“She’s your lobster. C’mon you guys. It’s a known fact that lobsters fall in love and mate for life. You can actually see old lobster couples walking around their tank, you know, holding claws. See? He’s her lobster!” -Friends, said by Phoebe about Ross and Rachel

“Every once in a while, people step up they rise above themselves sometimes they surprise you and sometimes they fall short. Life is funny sometimes. It can push pretty hard but if you look close enough, you can find hope in the words of children, in the bars of the song and in the eyes of someone you love. And if you’re lucky, if you’re the luckiest person on this entire planet, the person you love decides to love you back.” -One Tree Hill, said by Nathan

“I thought that it mattered what I said or where I said it. Then I realized the only thing that matters is that you make me happier than I ever thought I could be. And if you’ll let me, I will spend the rest of my life trying to make you feel the same way. Monica, will you marry me?” -Friends, said by Chandler

“The rest of your life is a long time and whether you know it or not it’s being shaped right now. You can choose to blame your circumstances on fate or bad luck or bad choices or you can fight back. Things aren’t always going to be fair in the real world, that’s just the way it is but for the most part you get what you give. Let me ask you all a question. What’s worse: not getting everything you wished for or getting it but finding out it’s not enough? The rest of your life is being shaped right now with the dreams you chase, the choices you make and the person you decide to be. The rest of your life is a long time and the rest of your life starts right now.” -One Tree Hill, said by Haley

“I’m not great at advice, can I interest you in a sacastic comment?” -Friends, said by Chandler

“Learn to let go of the past. And recognize that every day won’t be sunny, and when you find yourself lost in the darkness and despair, remember it’s only in the black of night you see the stars. And those stars will lead you back home. So don’t be afraid to make mistakes, to stumble and fall, cause most of the time, the greatest rewards come from doing the things that scare you the most. Maybe you’ll get everything you wish for. Maybe you’ll get more than you ever could have imagined.” -One Tree Hill, said by Coach Whitey Durham

Leave a Reply

