It’s 3am again

Why wouldn’t I be posting? It’s 3am.

This past week I went back in time (as you may have read here) via my old blogs. I do mean OLD blogs… xanga, livejournal, all that good stuff. Before they called it blogging and it was closer to street art than what “blogging” is today. Still trying to break into my old myspace. I did have a blogspot and a typepad also at one point. I also wrote detailed lengthy letters to one of my best friends all throughout high school that I’m trying to track down. Those letters will surely be revealing. One common theme in all my writing through the last 15 years (yes, that long) was the post launch time… can you guess? 3am. Yes.

I’ve literarily ALWAYS been a night owl. Even as a baby my mom says almost right off the bat I had my days and nights mixed up. The night time provided the dark andΒ quiet peace that has always focusedΒ my soul to write. Doesn’t mean I’m not afraid of the dark… but there are far less distractions at 3am. It’s a good type of alone.

Last night I got up around 1am (still rather early for me apparently) to get some food. I was at my parent’s house on Grammy duty. There’s this one cupboard at my mom’s that always smells like Bran Flakes. Even if there’s NO Bran Flakes in it! It’s one of those “smells like home” kind of smells that reassures you. Last week I opened this same cupboard only to find no bran flakes. For the record, I put about a pound of sugar on top of the Bran Flakes… who can even eat it plain? Why not just buy sugary cereal you ask? Good question, never thought about it. Bran Flakes with sugar though… perfect late night snack. Anyways, this week I open the cupboard to find…

Β when you think you found your cereal...cupboard2

What the heck is this fake?!?!?! Market Basket brand!!! So fine, there is supposed “bran flakes” but not the brand name original… and then to make matters even worse THIS happens…

cupboard3

I mean… of all the evils in this world.

That was it. My punishment for eating wheat. I never have wheat/gluten. Anyways… I made my bowl of sugar with a little cereal on top and made my way over to the couch and watch something while I gobble down this feast before bed. Of course it’s the middle of the night so what’s on… Nick at Night! Boy Meets World it is. Ahh, Netflix, when will you add Boy Meets World to streaming?

Then it struck me that in the same year I’m trying to conceive an actual human being with my husband five years into marriage… I’m still able to go to the house I grew up in, eat my mom’s cereal, and basically reenact my middle and high school existence. Down to Boy Meets World and the late night blogging even. Am I even allowed to claim adulthood when I still have these capabilities? For a second I felt so little. Is there ever an age that you reach when flashbacks such as these no longer occur? And it really takes you back! Just like reading my old blog posts did.

It’s a surreal kind of week. I’ve actually really thrown myself for a loop.Will anyone ever understand why the adolescent years stick with us in such a unique way? It’s the shortest time period of your life! You’ll spend most of your time on earth as an adult NOT being young. However we’re always hearing our grandparents talk about “the good ol days” or when they were growing up. It really sticks with us no matter how much you try and block it out. Oh and I’ve tried πŸ™‚

One more week of spending my Tuesday nights into Wednesday afternoons with Grammy. After that she’ll live in Virginia with my aunt for a month before she moves back to this area to live with yet another aunt and be reunited with my grandfather. So… next week will be the final bran flakes late night posting. Stay tuned. Exciting stuff here.

Leave a Reply

