A Day to be Grateful For

A few Saturday’s ago I had work piling up on my desk (if you’ve seen my desk you know this is an expression, because there is always a crap load of crap on my desk at all times) and I had about a million things on my to do list. I have a huge, giant, enormously important event coming up in a few weeks that I should be better prepared for. It could go on…

Regardless, I decided to do the right thing – the healthy thing!- and spend the day with my soul friends (friends that are also your soul mates). If you ARE one of my few true friends you understand what it’s like to be me, or at least have an understanding. You know that I don’t just have a “job” but a life consumed with a higher calling, therefore we won’t necessarily see each other that often. Most friends hang out all the time. This is not the case with me and my friends because I don’t always have control over my time. It’s hard to live like that sometimes, but to do anything of great important or impact will almost always require a personal sacrifice. A comfortable life never makes much of a difference. However, there are times where I have to decide to be a real person and acknowledge that I have needs – I’m not superhuman. So, I dropped everything else and went apple picking with some of the most important people in my life. IT FELT SO GOOD!!!!! Even though none of my work got done that Saturday, I was fulfilled and fueled in a whole different way. My soul needed that. We need each other! God didn’t build us for relationships by accident.

Here we all are on the tractor ride headed towards those apple trees waiting to be picked!

These are my friends! Here we all are on the tractor ride headed towards those apple trees waiting to be picked!

My life long friend Nubbin (aka – Ryan, his “real” name) and his wonderful wife Ashlynn invited me on this outing to Nubbin’s favorite childhood apple picking spot up in New Hampshire. That’s one thing that New England can boast – all of our states are close together and each state can be easily traveled to for whatever seasonal adventure awaits! I could not believe I’d never heard of or been to Applecrest Farm & Orchards in Hampton Falls, NH. It was beautiful all the way up to New Hampshire, I felt like the old people who go on fall foliage tours. Once we got there and all my friends piled out of our cars in the grass parking lot and I was remind of all the other times I’d traveled with these friends. The last grassy parking lot we’d been in together was at Creation Festival for our annual trip that we all used to take. Good memories. Applecrest was like a mini-festival itself! There was so much to see, lots of farm stands, and food stands, and even a “make your own scarecrow” booth. Scarecrows…. scare the crap out of me. I guess that’s their purpose, but like, it’s not cool. You know the food is my favorite… my friends ordered delicious homemade apple pie and ice cream! I had the best cinnamon sugar cider donut EVER. It was still warm too, yummmmm!

Applecrest also had tons of fruits, veggies, and fall time food to purchase in their outdoor market. There was even different flavored honey sticks!! If you know me well you know that I LOVE HONEY STICKS! I had them growing up as a treat my mom would buy us at Topsfield Fair (see previous post) or during our own family time apple picking. Honey sticks make me feel young again. Applecrest had strawberry sticks, grape, cinnamon, apple…. MIND BLOWN!!!!! I was so pumped I had to buy nine new flavors! I also purchased their own coffee milk which was sold in a glass bottle I had to pay for as well. Of course I had to buy fresh nectarines for Clark, they are his OBSESSION. I got little pumpkins for myself as well, tis the season!

The delicious loot I left Applecrest with... all for just $20! Now you can see displayed in my kitchen at home.

The delicious loot I left Applecrest with… all for just $20! Now you can see displayed in my kitchen at home.

Applecrest was so quaint, so New England, so Fall time! Oh, and I didn’t even talk about the actual apple picking yet! It was so cool to get on the “hayride” as I called it (really just a tractor pulling us on a flatbed) and travel across the farm passing all the different crops they were growing on the way to the apple trees. Then they had what seemed like a zillion different types of apple trees to pick from. We also saw another one of our friends and their family while there, it was just a great experience all around.

apple picking collage

We had decided to bring our lunch and eat it together picnic style out in the field we parked our two cars in. I loved eating and talking together! I love picnics and we ended up actually having two this day! Ashlynn brought this Whole Foods curry chicken salad stuff… WOW! So good! There’s something about eating together that brings you closer. I felt like I was at the best family dinner table conversation ever.

It probably seems a little curious that such normal activities make me so incredibly happy. I describe almost a euphoric experience as if everything was perfect including my friends. I know this is not really the case… although it was a pretty amazing day! Lately my life has been so hectic and stressful, my soul friends were just what the doctor ordered. My only regret was that my husband was away on a business trip and didn’t get to come with us. He did fly back into Boston just in time to see out friends towards the end of the day though, so I was at least glad for that. Again, I know this type of Saturday may seem pretty regular to most, but to me it’s special. It was a day that I can look back on and be truly grateful. Thank you Lord for giving me this life, these friends, and a great support system in the midst of what has been a confusing and chaotic chapter in my life.

Sometimes you just need to let everything go and give yourself a bit of soul therapy. You have to take care of yourself. I’ve found that when I don’t do that… it’s like I’m a shell on the shore of the ocean that has been beaten down by the waves so much that it’s broken and withering away. It then becomes hard for me to be the best wife or the best mentor. Each person has different needs, this we know, but you cannot deny we all need to take care of ourselves. Self preservation is not a bad thing! For Kim… taking care of myself means being in God’s presence often, relaxing and being creative, and not overworking. It means taking time for myself and doing things that make me happy. It means being with people that make me happy. It’s the best feeling in the world to say “I can’t remember the last time I laughed this much!”.

It’s easy to become suffocated in my line of work because it’s so all consuming, it’s your whole life. You don’t even realize you’ve burnt out until you burn out. In my “field” we’ll call it… it’s even ”frowned upon” to take care of yourself. We are supposed to be taking care of others! The harder you work and the busier you are then the more effective or successful you’re being. False – and I learned the hard way. I have to be a bit of pioneer in my field and take that sabbath (funny how we easily overlook that commandment), take care of myself, and love Jesus more each day. Because I have such a small amount of free time, or even unscheduled time, the “me time” gets thrown out the window. This is why it’s SO important for me to spend that precious little time with the people that are right for me. This is exactly what I talked about in my last entry. I just thank God for these friends! I’m so glad Ashlynn thought to invite me, because in the past I haven’t always been able to say “yes” as much as I’d like. I only hope the people I love keep on inviting me, despite their frustration that Clark and I can’t say yes most of the time. I’m glad I have friends that love me and love Clark. A day and a life to be grateful for. That is all.

 

Friends :)

Friends 🙂

Leave a Reply

