While My Husband Sleeps… Thoughts for Today

Good evening, friends. These are my last thoughts before bed today. Apparently, they are interesting enough to share. ūüôā So. Ever wonder what you’re love language is with God? Today my intern Ana and I were doing some research (it’s Love Month at youth group) and we ended up creating a skit for our students to preform. The skit so happens to base five characters off each love language as described in Gary Chapman’s book. Yes, that really is what I did at work today. Subsequently, my husband asked me tonight “do you ever find yourself giving advice that you should really be taking yourself?”… and immediately I answered “I’m convinced that is how God speaks us sometimes, because otherwise we might not listen”. Now, am I really suggesting that God uses reverse¬†psychology¬†on us? Haha, I don’t know. I really have very little answers. Maybe you have found yourself in the position of regular “advice giver” like myself and my husband. For us it’s occupational hazard, maybe for you it’s simply that you are the least stupid friend someone has. Either way, have you ever asked yourself this question… “am I really living out the advice I just gave to [insert person’s name here]?”

Back to the love language thing. God and I have had a pretty serious relationship going on twenty years now. Sometimes I’m reminded that He really knows me… kinda freakish really! It’s startling how well God cares for me when I let him. God knows my personality (duh, He created me this way) and knows the way I need to be reminded when I should be doing better in my walk. When I’m giving someone else advice the pressure is off me, right? Uh, wrong. Somehow God ends up sneaking in something for me anyways. It’s a real subtle way of smacking me in the face for a much needed wake up call! Is that an oxymoronic statement? Subtle face smack? It’s some type of moron I’m sure. I’m thinking – aren’t I here to help some other person with the consequences of THEIR stupid¬†decision?? When I need challenging God often finds an unconventional and unexpected way to let me know. I love when¬†God speaks to me in ways He knows I’ll really take to heart. I don’t even realize until the moment is long past. It’s His way of loving me. He knows what I need to hear and in what fashion. This is something I like about our relationship! I also like that He knows my value and expects me to live up to it.

Thank you God for always taking care of me in every way possible. Even when I’m not giving You my all, I find a reminder that You’re there and want more of me. I want to serve You more because of it! Thank you Lord for making me better.

“No, the¬†Lord¬†is all I need.

    He takes care of me.
6 My share in life has been pleasant;
my part has been beautiful.

7 I praise the Lord because he advises me.
    Even at night, I feel his leading.
8 I keep the Lord before me always.
    Because he is close by my side,
    I will not be hurt.
9 So I rejoice and am glad.
    Even my body has hope,
10 because you will not leave me in the grave.
    You will not let your holy one rot.
11 You will teach me how to live a holy life.
    Being with you will fill me with joy;
¬†¬†¬†¬†at your right hand I will find pleasure forever.”

Psalm 16: 5 – 11

Leave a Reply

